Pesto Stuffed Grilled Fish

Immediately I would like to complain.  I do not like my camera anymore.  I would love to have a digital Nikon or something that easily takes nice pictures but that’s not on the books anytime soon.  So I apologize for the pics.  They will have to do for now.

This recipe I adapted from Kraft Foods.

Stuffed Grilled Medium-Firm Fish

What You Need:

2 lemons, each cut into 10 slices, ends discarded
6 medium-firm fish fillets {filling can be stretched our extra full so buy as many pieces of fish as you have mouths to feed}
1/2 cup {4 oz.} light cream cheese {doesn’t have to be light}
2 Tbsp pesto
1 tsp minced garlic
1 bunch asparagus spears, trimmed, cut diagonally into 2-inch lengths
1/2 cup  halved grape or cherry tomatoes
salt and pepper to taste
foil
Directions:

HEAT grill to medium heat.

MIX together the cream cheese, pesto, and garlic.  (It’s easier to mix if the cream cheese is room temperature.)

ARRANGE 3 lemon slices, slightly overlapping, on half of each of 4 large sheets heavy-duty foil sprayed with cooking spray. Place fish, skinned-sides up (my fish didn’t have skin), on work surface. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Spread each with 1 Tbsp (just eyeball it) pesto mixture. Roll up, starting at thin end of each fillet.  Secure with toothpicks.

PLACE 2 roll-ups (I just did one per pack), seam-sides down, on lemon slices on each foil sheet; top with asparagus and peppers. Fold each foil sheet to make packet.

GRILL 6 to 8 min. or until fish flakes easily with fork. Carefully open foil packets; top fish with lemon slices.

I served it with Organic Quinoa from Trader Joe’s.  You can also serve it with rice, but please, I beg you, use brown rice.  White rice is the same grain as brown rice, only stripped of all it’s nutrients.

The great thing about this recipe is you are cooking the meat and veggies all together.  No need for other side dishes (besides your whole grain of choice).

For this meal I used Trader Joe’s Ocean Cod.  I could see in the package that they were long pieces which I knew would make it better for rolling.  If you clicked to the original recipe you’ll see that I completely changed the filling.  That was because I wanted to use my pesto.  It was sooooo yummy.  The lemon was so great with it, but you will find I have a small obsession with lemon.

While summer grips on, use this opportunity to use your grill a few more times!  (Although, I think that baking these foil packs would work just as well.  Maybe 15 minutes at 375?

Try it and tell me what you thought or what variations you tried!

One thought on “Pesto Stuffed Grilled Fish

Leave a Reply

