The Vegetarian Meat

Fish is a big one in the world of health food.  There is a quote from Ron Swanson on the subject,

I love to fish.  I don’t eat it though.  Fish is meat for vegetarians.

It’s funny cuz it’s true.  I can’t tell you how many vegetarians I’ve met that say, “I don’t eat any meat except for fish.”  But there are reasons why a lot of healthians do eat fish.

We all know that too much red meat is bad for your heart.  On the flip side, fish is very good for your heart.  More specifically, the omega-3 fatty acids in fish are good for the health of your heart.  And here’s the deal, short of taking a supplement, eating fish is really the only way you can get it.  Heart disease is the leading cause of death in the United States.  There you go.  That should be reason enough.

No?

Ok.  Well how about these?

1. It’s really high in protein {could be a reason some “vegetarians” eat it}.

2. Omega-3 fatty acids help with inflammation.  So if you struggle with pain and inflammation {like in arthritis} eat more fish.

3.  Omega-3s are good for your brain.  They are good for brain development but also help with your memory {see, I need to eat more fish!}.

4. Fights cancer.  The fish are like little ninjas swimming around in your body fighting cancer.  Ok.  I’m lying.  But seriously, several studies show anti-cancer benefits of omega-3s.

There are a few things to be noted, however.  Some fish {specifically fish that eat other fish like swordfish, tilefish, and sharks} are really high in mercury.  High levels of mercury can be dangerous for fetuses {so don’t eat these if you’re pregnant} or for young children.  That doesn’t mean you should throw out fish all together {if you’re pregnant or a young child}, just know which ones are dangerously high in mercury.  Click here for a good place to go for that info.

For everyone else the American Heart Association {and your mom} suggests you eat fish two times a week.  I have to admit, I typically make it once a week.  Not because I don’t like fish but because of a lack of good recipes.  Please, please, PLEASE don’t read this and start throwing a bunch of fish in the deep fry.  That’s just not right.

So once a week I will be trying a fish recipe and letting you know how it goes.  You should try some too and then send them my way!

10 thoughts on “The Vegetarian Meat

  1. Yay!!!!!!! I love fish!
    My favorite one you do is the one with all the vegi’s and that awesome cheese:-)

    But Mr. Swanson is right…a man of wise words:-)

  2. I would try fish recipes if I had someone to share the meal with. As it is, I put it in a piece of tin foil, drizzle olive oil over it, shake a bunch of italian spice mix and lemon pepper over the top and throw on a few onion slices, roll the foil over and put it on the grill. Yummy. That way we can have separate meals.

  3. I’m excited to see what you come up with because we would like to eat more fish, but have only made it as far as salmon. I’m too much of a nervous Nelly to branch out more because if no-one here likes it then I’m eating fish for a week.

  4. and you should post your fish recipes so we know how to make it…I know not, but I do think it’s yummy ( please be specific on what to buy and how to cook so I will not be scared off by thinking I’m doing it wrong…wrongly…uh oh)

  5. Pingback: For Beginner Fish Chefs |

Leave a Reply

