Why I’m Blogging

We’ll start with my About section as my first blog.  It explains why I’m blogging as much as it can be explained.

I like to learn.  I come from a mother and grandmother who are both avid learners.  My grandmother takes many courses from the local college.  It’s a great, intellectual way to go about learning.  Only…it doesn’t work for me.  I love to read.  I can spend hours reading but if a teacher {or my mother} hands me a book to read, I don’t wanna.  Won’t do it.  I don’t get to choose the topic of learning or the book to read.  It seems it has to be inspired upon me.  It has to hit that little button inside of me that sends me into hyperfocus mode.

Still don’t understand?  Hmmmmm…it’s like cleaning.  I love organization and for things to be clean yet I don’t do a great job of keeping it that way.  I get the bug to clean and I will do great- go and go- but without that little bug…it just doesn’t happen.

Something will grab my attention and I will spend hours upon hours researching, reading, obsessing over it.  It can be something intellectual, scientific, spiritual, or just plain trivial.  Just as I can’t seem to force the topic, I can’t control how long it stays and goes.  Sometimes it ends at a simple wikipedia look-up but sometimes it will stay for weeks, requiring lots of visits to the library.  Often, along the road of discovery, something else will pique my interest and there I go again chasing another bunny trail.

My mother-in-law calls it hyperfocus.  Basically I get stuck on a subject until, well, I get stuck on something else.

Look.  I realize my mother will read this.  Possibly my grandmother.  Maybe my sister.  On a lunch break.  If she has nothing else to do.  I’m ok with that.  I just figure that if I spend hours learning about or doing something, I might as well write it down.  I’m convinced if I get it out of my head, maybe I will actually sleep at night.  Also, I have a horrible memory so this is my only way I will remember what I’ve learned.  Who knows, maybe my pointless research will save someone the time I’ve wasted!

So if you’ve stumbled upon my blog here are some need-to-know details about me:

1. I’m married : So yes, you may get random married gushiness.  Jon also happens to be my best friend so that works out well.  Although he doesn’t always understand my hf {hyperfocus} he’s pretty supportive of my weirdness.

2. I have 2 children : You most definitely will hear lots about them : Kadence is 3, Greg is 1.  They are inspiration to many random bunny trails.  Everyone thinks their kids are the best and I’m no exception.  So please don’t call DFS on me.  99% of the time my hyperfocus topics are explored during naptime or after they go to bed.  You know.  When I’m supposed to be cleaning.

3. I love Jesus : Luckily some of my hyperfocus leads me down paths of searching truths about God. I love those moments. And will share them.

4. I love parties : They start off simple, then a theme grabs me and my imagination goes crazy and the budget gets blown.

5. I’m crafty : Not the evil kind.  Just another stay-at-home-mom who loves to make random things (although, there again, I don’t get to choose what random things will grab my attention) and spend hours on Pinterest.  Sorry to be so stereotypical.

6. I’m wordy : Sorry.  It won’t change.  I’ve tried.  I’m stuck with it.  And to my mother’s demise, I make lots of words up (like gushiness).  And I use lots of short, incomplete sentences.  Get used to it.

I’m in the process of documenting my current hf {hyperfocus} and will happily share it soon.  Unfortunately some of my research requires delivery from the bookmobile which won’t come until next Thursday.

13 thoughts on “Why I’m Blogging

  1. So is that what we call it? Hyperfocus? Well I must have it too but because I have a much better memory than you those trails seem to stick in my head for years. They also lead me down multiple trails at once. However those trails of interest seldom lead anywhere productive. It always seems that just as it seems as though they may lead some where they dead end and then it’s off down a new trail.

  2. I have the same problem, however I like to think of it as following my passion. I’ll read a book or watch a show, and I will be curious about something. I learned when I was very young 7-8, that I could go to the library and find the answer to my question, so—-if I am curious I read a book or watch a video until I am satisfied.

    I love to read also, but I have trouble with my eyes, so I have started watching video’s. My library has a wonderful selection and I also buy some. My mother had a passion for learning also. She used to drag me to used book stores, and I learned to love them too. She loved to find old National Geographics.

    • Grandma, your learning is inspiring! Sometimes I think of it as passion but when I say random, I mean random. For example, recently we were driving down the interstate talking about all the Colleges we were seeing. Then it was brought up, what is the difference between a College and a University. One is 2 year one is 4? Well, no that can’t be because this “College” has BA programs. Well, we then say, one must offer housing and the other does not. That can’t be because Greenville College had housing…so we decided we didn’t know. Well, we went on the rest of the night. I’m sure everyone else forgot about it but all night long I kept thinking about what the difference was. That night I couldn’t go to sleep until I learned what the difference was (which is basically that a College offers a collection of degrees in one area while a University is a collection of colleges so when you graduate from a University you also graduate from their “business college” or so on. It was also noted that in the US there is really little difference in the quality of education whereas in other countries there can be a big difference, specifically Canada and Australia. It was also noted that Universities are required to do a certain amount of “research” where Colleges are not). Anywho, in those situations it’s not so much passion as much as a weirdo obsession {or hyperfocus} that I must know the answer before life can go on. In this situation thank God for the Internet…but for other situations I want more authority than the Internet! 😀

  3. Ha, I forgot how much alike we are in some ways. I have it too. That’s why when I finally got a smartphone with internet access things didn’t bug me for nearly as long. Now when something pops into my head I can immediately look it up on my phone and almost always get an answer that satisfies me. Or satisfies me enough that it won’t torture me all day until I can get home and do the real research!

    I look forward to reading about what you learn. 🙂

  4. I’m nodding along! Ben and I are very much like that – we were just talking about that a week ago. I have NO idea what people did before the internet. I love the library more than most, but there’s something so gratifying about being able to look for information whenever and wherever!

Leave a Reply

